Finding My Roots

At the age of 49 I found my roots.

In the year 2002, just shy of 50 years old, my self imposed deadline for  trying to find my birth family ~ I found them.

The woman who gave birth to me was Marlene Haimowitz born 23 Jan 1934, Bronx, NY. Marlene was 17, single, pregnant, working to help support her mother Myra, 2 sisters Rochelle and Brenda along with brother Sheldon. Her father Isidore had died 2 years prior.

Marlene at some point had met my birth father Vincenzo Civitano, a handsome, exciting, and forbidden love ~ an Italian young man, which led to me.

Donna Haimowitz ~ aka Sharon Tanner Brown my named changed at my adoption.

So this blog, The Haimowitz Family Blog will deal with my Jewish side …….the families that make me, me.

Join me as I uncover this family and piece together this patchwork quilt of forefathers and their families.

Author:

15 years ago I located my birth family, both maternal and paternal side. After literally years of searching, even before the help of the internet, I just couldn't stop searching so I began digging into my new found families past. The journey has been amazing as we connect and reconnect lost and found generations.

Leave a Reply

