Frances Lifshitz; Granddaughter of Solomon Lifshitz

Today, short of a few hours to bath and grocery shop, I have spent the entire day looking at, ordering and discovering a picture of Frances Lifshitz, granddaughter of Solomon and Sarah Lifshitz. Frances is my 2nd cousin 2x removed. Somewhere out there yet to be discovered are her descendants.

My original intent was to continue talking about the children of Solomon and Sarah and I had begun blogging about Isaac/Isadore Lifshitz when I ran into his daughter Frances again, sending me out on a tangent that yielded this wonderful picture of her.

FrancesLifshitz1

FrancesLifshitz2

Frances was born about 1926, Bronx, New York. This picture is from Christopher Columbus High School, Bronx. The year 1942. Records substantiate that the family was living at this address  by 1930 – 1942. Christopher Columbus opened her doors in 1939 (and just recently closed her doors in 2014)  There it is below.

 

columbushighschool1939

I believed I discovered the correct death date for Solomon and Sarah today, locating them at Mt Carmel Cemetery, Glendale, NY. I have set the wheels in motion to get a picture of their ‘shared’ gravestone as well as ordering Solomon’s death certificate. Records found have a death year of 1935 for Solomon and 1951 for Sarah. Since I have been unable to find a a record for them anywhere in 1940 I suspected a death year somewhere in-between 1930 – 1940. I did find a record for a Sarah, as mother in law with daughter Minnie (1940) but not proven since the record indicated this Minnie was not with the husband I have for her. Further research is needed to prove this record.

I am anxious to see what these documents reveal that I have sent for and if indeed they confirm that my information and research is correct. I also ordered the marriage certificate for their son Isaac/Isadore. 3 records could land me a treasure trove of info. I can hardly wait.

Here I go, getting off topic with Frances Lifshitz, but for now, I have no other information. I have not found her past this H.S. photo in 1942. I have been unable to find another researcher with this family to throw me a gem, a clue. I have posted to my favorite genealogy FB group, Tracing The Tribe in hopes another Lifshitz researcher may recognize Frances.

It’s amazing to think that my mother and her 2nd cousin Frances, with 10 years age difference, very possibly had known each other. Since so much of our family story unknown, I will believe so until other wise proven.

Author:

15 years ago I located my birth family, both maternal and paternal side. After literally years of searching, even before the help of the internet, I just couldn't stop searching so I began digging into my new found families past. The journey has been amazing as we connect and reconnect lost and found generations.

Leave a Reply

