Will You Tell Their Stories?

The last 48 hours became one of those dream come true days for a family genealogist. From my 1st cousin 1x removed, Arline, I received this priceless photo of my grandfather Isidore Haimowitz and 3 of his 4 siblings. Thank you Thank you Thank you Arline the photo is a treasure beyond value to me and those to come…  (Fay is Arline’s Mom)

Isidore is the baby sitting in the middle. The photo show’s how close in age Herman and Paul were. Herman is standing in the middle in the back Herman b.Sept. 1898, Paul b. June 1901, Fay b. July 1904, Isidore b.1906

infantisidor3
Hyman (Herman) Pincus (Paul) Isidor & Freda (Fay) Haimowitz

The age of the boys is important at this time as I continue to try to locate the immigration records for this family. Just to recap Herman was born in Galati, Romania. We know this from  his death certificate. But we do not know if the parents, Samuel and Rebecca were born in Galati, we have no record to confirm that at this time. Paul however, has a conflicting paper trail. Family story is he was born aboard ship. Records differ and indicate a New York and a Romanian birth. His death certificate records New York with his daughter Annette as the informant but his social security application, filled out by Paul says Roumania. All census records differ as to birth year. I have not been able to locate the families immigration papers.

I am currently reading the book The Spoon From Minkowitz a bittersweet roots journey to ancestral lands by Judith Fein. (love it) I actually had one of those rare opportunities to  read the book while I was at work yesterday.  I scribbled down a line she had written “who will tell their stories? ” I wanted to shout out out loud I will, I will. That question rang so true for me. In fact as I research sometimes I find myself living their lives.

When I got home and checked the mail this photo was waiting for me.                                    This photo is now ‘My Spoon From Minkowitz’ 

Will you tell their stories?

 

 

 

Author:

15 years ago I located my birth family, both maternal and paternal side. After literally years of searching, even before the help of the internet, I just couldn't stop searching so I began digging into my new found families past. The journey has been amazing as we connect and reconnect lost and found generations.

8 thoughts on “Will You Tell Their Stories?

  1. What an absolutely gorgeous photo! I can imagine your excitement. And I know what you mean about feeling like you are living their lives. I get that same feeling at times.
    If in fact Paul was born on the ship, that might explain why some records say NY, some Romania. He might not have known which country had jurisdiction over the ship.

    1. I love the photo too 🙂 and I do recommend the book. Easy quick read. Great personal family story
      that brings the past to life. Thanks for stopping by and taking a look at my blog.

Leave a Reply

