Discovery from the Lodz Ghetto

 

I have spent a lot of time researching our Lipschitz family and while I wait for a few documents that I have sent for I wanted to take another look at our Rosen family.

Selig Rosen (Zelik Rozen) my 2x great grandfather was born abt 1860/62 in Sompolno, Russia/Poland. He was the son of Jakob Rozen and Mirla (Muriel) Morgansztern~ I had written in a past post on this family that some time back about 2/3 years ago, I was contacted by a researcher named Barbara Rubinstein; a woman living in Sweden who had family information to share. She was originally from Poland and a distant cousin off of our Rosen line. It was through her that I was able to learn Selig’s parents and siblings. Selig married Rojza Ruchel (Rosa) Bibrowska/Beberofska, daughter of Abram Hersz Bibrowski and Itta Szenlicha Bibrowska both also from Sompolno, Russia.

Selig had 3 sisters; Echia b. abt 1865, Estera Gitla b. 1869 and Krindel Itte b. 1873

Taking a moment now to look at Selig’s sister Estera Gitla and remember her  

From Ancestry:

Ghetto: Lodz
Name: Estera Gitla Rozen
Gender: Female – F
Birth Date: 24 Oct 1869
Age: 73
Address: 57 Flat 5 Hamburger Strasse
Residence: Lodz, Poland
Death Date: 02 Sep 1942
Death Place: Lodz Ghetto

Off of the Vadvashem website I located our Estera Gitla

Estera Gitla Rozen 1869 Lodz, Poland List of Lodz ghetto inmates murdered
Estera Rozen was born in 1869. Prior to WWII she lived in Lodz, Poland. During the war she was in Lodz, Poland.

Estera was murdered in the Shoah.

This information is based on a List of Lodz ghetto inmates found in Lodz Names – List of the ghetto inhabitants 1940-1944, Yad Vashem and the Organization of former residents of Lodz in Israel, Jerusalem 1994.
With the help of google and google maps I learned that the address name Hamburger Strasse where Estera Gitel lived was renamed to Lutomierska Street 

The 1st picture is 57 Hamburgerstrasse/Lutomierska Street, obviously a remodeled building of Estera’s home. Then I did a simple google image search for Lodz Ghetto which  brought up many pictures but this one jumped out at me. Could this be 57 Hamburgerstrasse/Lutomierska back when Estera lived there? Notice the shape of the building and the porch in front on the second floor, was the back section of the building removed with a small store front entrance in back added? I don’t know for sure but I like to imagine that this was her home. What do you think?

lodzmap

I have spent a few hours since beginning this post reading about the Lodz ghetto, looking at pictures, and I am feeling a bit overwhelmed at this point.

Brother Selig had already passed away.(prior to 1940) That left my great grandmother Kate Rosen Lipshitz, her two sister’s, Jenny Rosen married to Alexander Reiner and Rose (Rae) Rosen married to David Smith and there families. I can’t help but reflect on what they had heard or knew of their family that had not left Poland. Was there an effort to try and get them out? These are stories no one that I have talked with in the family seem to remember. In addition to these 3 sisters here in the US that ‘we’ know of, there were 2 brother’s Jacob Wolf & Abram Rosen, who both immigrated here. I have some research on these brothers that I will blog about later but in addition there was 1 other brother Auter/Auszer b. 1896 and another sister Mirla/Mirel Rosen b. 1880 who I believe remained in Poland. As a family we only talk about the 3 sisters but I want to know has anyone any information on Jacob Wolf and Abram? Please contact me.

elie

candleburning

This post is dedicated to my granddaughter Torance Annebelle, 13 years old, who just read The Diary of Anne Frank and asked questions. We must never forget to remember and ask questions.

 

 

Author:

15 years ago I located my birth family, both maternal and paternal side. After literally years of searching, even before the help of the internet, I just couldn't stop searching so I began digging into my new found families past. The journey has been amazing as we connect and reconnect lost and found generations.

6 thoughts on “Discovery from the Lodz Ghetto

  1. Very touching, Sharon, and heartbreaking. I am not sure it’s the same building since the windows seems a different shape, but perhaps it was built where the other one was located and part of the structure was preserved? Hard to say. But I’d go with the idea that she lived there or something very similar to it.

    1. Amy – this is the first family member that I have found that I could document we lost in the Holocaust. I was very moved to discover this. I am going with the site of the building right on for the new building, hallowed ground!

      1. Until I started doing family history research, I always thought I had no relatives killed in the Holocaust. I remember the first time I found a relative who had been killed. I was so shocked and so disturbed. It made me realize just how connected we all are.

Leave a Reply

