Rosen Family continues with son’s Abram and Jacob

In my last post I revisited the Rosen family and focused on Estera Gitla, the sister of my 2x great grandfather Selig Rosen. Estera Gitla, perished at Lodz, Russia in the Holocaust. In this post I want to look forward  and start to research Jacob Wolf Rosen b. 11 April 1894 • Sompolno, Koninski, Greater Poland Voivodeship, Poland, son of Selig and Rose Rosen

The 3 known children of Selig and Rose are my great grandmother  Kate (Kruse) Rosen b. 10 Jan 1889, Jennie (Chane) Rosen b. 1886, Rose (Rae) Rosen. Kate, Jennie, and Rose made up the nucleus of the Rosen family that my known family members knew of, however, with documenting their immigration records, I discovered 3 brother’s, Auszer, who remained in Sompolno as far as I can tell, Abram b. 1900 who immigrates with Kate and the brother named Jacob Wolf b. abt 1892, who came in 1909.

Abram was traveling with my great grandmother Kate (Kruse) leaving from the port of Hamburg on 9 June 1911 aboard the SS Blucher  arriving at the port of New York on June 20th. Abrams is 11, born in Sompolno, Russia.  The name of nearest relative left behind was brother; Auszer R., Sompolno. They were traveling to their father S. Rosen at 217 E. 102 St. What confirmed that this was my great grandmother was 3 facts, the address of 217 E. 102nd where Selig and Rose were living in the 1910c , the address Kruse lived at when she married and the fact that next to Kate’s name on the immigration papers were the words deaf and dumb. For those just reading this blog, Kate was deaf but definitely not dumb.

1910crosen

1910crosen2

I have not been able to find another record on Abram Rosen. He is missing from the 1915c. with his parents. He would have been abt 16/17. What has happened to Abram Rosen will have to be left until new documents are found or someone reading this knows the answer.

This brings me to

Jakob Wolf Rosen b. abt 1892, left Sompolno, Russia in 1909 on board the ship Amerika, departing from the port at Hamburg arriving in New York on 17 July 1909.  I found him listed living with his parents Selig and Rose at the 102 St address in the 1910c

One year later 1911 he married Sadie Rosset. While their are inconsistencies with age, which is not uncommon, I am sure this is our Jacob.

jacobrosenmarriagecert

I have documents with 2 differing last names for Rose nee Beberofsky/Bibrowska (a indicating female, i indicates male)

On daughter Jennie’s marriage cert. the last name of Beaber is written for Rose’s maiden name. On the death certificate for Kate her maiden last name is recorded Beberofsky and on Kate (Kruse’s)  marriage license her maiden name is Bibrowsky. All little different but I believe Beber is just the shortened version to use for ‘Beber’ofsky. (misspelled on Jennies doc by recorder)

So begins my journey into the brother of my great grandmother, my great Uncle Jacob Rosen and what became of him and who his family was.

 

Author:

15 years ago I located my birth family, both maternal and paternal side. After literally years of searching, even before the help of the internet, I just couldn't stop searching so I began digging into my new found families past. The journey has been amazing as we connect and reconnect lost and found generations.

4 thoughts on “Rosen Family continues with son’s Abram and Jacob

  1. Sharon,

    Congratulations on the blog! I eagerly await every new post. I think it is fantastic how you are documenting your family history.

    I was reading your most recent post about brothers Jacob and Abram Rosen and read that you had hit a dead end in regards to Abram. I had a few minutes free this afternoon while enjoying your post and thought I’d give it a quick search to see if I could help in any way. Using FamilySearch, I was able to find Abram (Abraham) Rosen’s marriage record to a Kate Brickman. There isn’t an image, but it does list his parents correctly as Selig Rosen and Rose Bieber of which you list as your 2X great-grandparents. The bride’s parent’s names are horribly indexed and misspelled, but I’m sure they’re way more legible on the document itself. Hope this helps and leads to even more awesome discoveries!

    Selig Rosen
    mentioned in the record of Abraham Rosen and Kate Brickman

    Name Selig Rosen
    Gender Male
    Wife Rose Bieber
    Son Abraham Rosen

    Other information in the record of and
    from New York, New York City Marriage Records
    Name Abraham Rosen
    Event Type Marriage
    Event Date 11 Nov 1924
    Event Place Manhattan, New York, New York, United States
    Event Place (Original) Manhattan, New York
    Gender Male
    Age 24
    Marital Status Single
    Race White
    Birth Year (Estimated) 1900
    Birthplace Russia
    Father’s Name Selig Rosen
    Mother’s Name Rose Bieber
    Spouse’s Name Kate Brickman

    Spouse’s Gender Female
    Spouse’s Age 20
    Spouse’s Marital Status Single
    Spouse’s Race White
    Spouse’s Birth Year (Estimated) 1904
    Spouse’s Birthplace U.S.A.
    Spouse’s Father’s Name Jehire Brickman
    Spouse’s Mother’s Name Pallay Beekie

    Citing this Record
    “New York, New York City Marriage Records, 1829-1940,” database, FamilySearch (https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:2464-TDN), Selig Rosen in entry for Abraham Rosen and Kate Brickman, 11 Nov 1924; citing Marriage, Manhattan, New York, New York, United States, New York City Municipal Archives, New York; FHL microfilm 1,643,297.

    1. Peter~ Thank You! So wonderful to hear from you and happy your enjoying the blog. You out did your self once again. You know you are an amazing researcher, and should be blogging our Civitano’s 🙂 Still haven’t gotten to them. This could actually be a life time project I am thinking. My best to you and your family branch from our family branch.

Leave a Reply

