Abraham Rosen is alive and married

In my last post I thanked my cousin Peter Marino for answering the question, what happened to Abraham Rosen, son of Selig and Rose Rosen, my 2x great grandparents. Peter followed up on that question, did some research on his own and came up with the answer for us.

Abram/Abraham Rosen was the youngest son of Selig and Rose. He was born in Sompolno, Russia in 1900 and immigrated with my great grandmother Kate in 1911. Abram was 11 years old and traveling with his deaf sister who was 22. I imagine that had to be quite an intimidating journey for a young boy. They were traveling to their parents in New York.

When I asked the question, what happened to Abraham, my thoughts were that he had passed away from illness. I could find no mention of him. After arriving in 1911, he was not living with his parents in 1915c, in fact none of the children were, nor was he living with them in the 1920c nor was he living with his sisters Kate, Jennie, Rose, or Jacob either.

Peter discovered the marriage record for  (familysearch.org )

Abraham Rosen married Kate Brickman  on 11 Nov 1924, NYC                                                                                                               Parents of groom: Selig Rosen & Rose Bieber                                                                                                                     Parents of bride:  Jehiel Brickman & Rebecca Pallay

Two days of searching and I still have not found anything on Abraham and Kate but something else very exciting did pop up. Take a look at this graph I drew to see what I was seeing. The last name of Pallay jumped out at me. My great grandfather’s mother was a woman named Edith Pallay (Palay). I know nothing more about her. (remember Benjamin and Kate are both deaf) Abraham immigrates with sister Kate, Abraham marries Kate Brickman who’s mother is a Rebecca Pallay.

pallayconnection

So the question now is

Is it just me or does anyone else think very possibly Edith and Rebecca are sisters? 

I have sent away for Abraham and Kate Brickman’s marriage license. I have a lot of research to do and thankfully with winter break from school and another full week off, I have lots of time to devote to my 2nd great Uncle Abraham Rosen and his family.

 

 

Author:

15 years ago I located my birth family, both maternal and paternal side. After literally years of searching, even before the help of the internet, I just couldn't stop searching so I began digging into my new found families past. The journey has been amazing as we connect and reconnect lost and found generations.

3 thoughts on “Abraham Rosen is alive and married

  1. Thank you so much for the shout out! Totally unnecessary though, it’s my pleasure to help. I think I may have figured out what happened to Abram (Abraham) Rosen and why you couldn’t locate him. While I was baking Italian Christmas cookies before and waiting for them to cook (it’s amazing what you can accomplish doing so many things at once lol), I thought I’d give it a shot to see if I could find anything new on Abram. First, I searched out “Kate Brickman” born about 1904 and found her in a few different censuses living with her parents Jehiel & Beckie Brinkman along with her siblings Jacob (Jessie) & David. I noticed that they all listed her as being born in NYC in about 1904, which means she should be in the NYC Birth index available at the Municipal Archives, so I searched on IGG and FamilySearch to see what Brinkmans came up and if any resembled Kate or Katie.

    The closest match in that time period that came up on IGG was a Krane Brickman born June 9, 1904 in Manhattan. I then put that info into the same NYC Birth index that FamilySearch has (FS has a bit more information indexed along with the name and date, making it much easier to determine if someone is the person you’re looking for) and came up with this:

    Kranie Brickman
    New York, New York City Births
    Name Kranie Brickman
    Event Type Birth
    Event Date 09 Jun 1904
    Event Place Manhattan, New York, New York, United States
    Gender Female
    Race White
    Father’s Name Ichial Brickman
    Father’s Birthplace Russia
    Father’s Age 25
    Mother’s Name Bruna Palley Brickman
    Mother’s Birthplace Russia
    Mother’s Age 23

    Once I had this information about her exact birth date, I thought I’d search on Ancestry in the SSDI for Kate Rosen born 9 Jun 1904. In addition, I was able to find a Kate Rosen born 1904 in the 1940 Census, living in Queens, with a husband Harry Rosen born 1900 and daughter Rense (it’s a bit hard to read) and her mother Beckie Brinkman. Abram assumed the name Harry Rosen explaining why you were unable to find him! According to a Find-A-Grave hint associated with her SSDI listing, her and Harry are buried out near Washington, DC. Hope this helps! Got to go finish my cookies!

    Kate Rosen
    Birth: 9 Jun 1904
    Death: Feb 1979 – Silver Spring, Montgomery, Maryland, USA
    Civil: New York

    1. Outstanding research Peter and lots of help; I actually spent quite some time on the Brickman’s and have quite a bit to add in a next post. I wondered about Harry too! How did the cookies turn out? Bet Julia loved them! Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

