Happy New Year

With the new year of 2017 fast approaching I have been reflecting for days now on my family, friends, this blog and the wealth of love, change and connections that has taken place since I began blogging my families story in July. After a visit from my daughter and her  family, the suggestion was made I should blog my research and finds. It would be easier then sending out emails to everyone I was told, well, when I think of it now it was only 5 family members; it wasn’t that hard. 1 Aunt, 3 cousins, 1 daughter ~ on my Jewish side (since that was the side we were talking about) I had been following a few blogs I found from being a member on a genealogy FB group called Tracing The Tribe. One woman had caught my attention named Amy and I was drawn into her family blog deeper and deeper with each post. Following her blog became like binge watching a series and I wanted to know more.  So I thought, why not, and I jumped right in and got my feet wet…..

My obsession with genealogy began 13 years ago after I found my birth family, both my maternal and paternal sides. After years of searching, I couldn’t stop, digging and scoring records, connecting the dots, connecting with people, gleaming information, listening to stories had entered and taken over my soul and so armed with my roots I set out to dig deeper and learn more about who and why ‘I am’

Nature vs Nurture is an on going debate. I am still not sure where I fit in on that issue except to say perhaps a little of both, no, a lot of nature. I am entirely my birth – mother and father with love overflowing for the parents who raised me.

The connections made with 2nd and 3rd cousins has been one of the more rewarding experiences through the process. Connecting cousin’s who have lost touch, even more exciting. Sure adding to the family history is great but the personal connection is what makes the past, the present and the story for the future dance.

So what have I learned? Keep on digging, stripping away the layers of unknown and lost information that has kept us from connecting and sharing, growing and responding to each other. For most, the desire to know who they are, where they came from, what has formed them is an inherent need. Through my story, through the stories of my family found, what I have learned is what divided us is what has connected us. Sounds simply simple as I write but it truly isn’t that simple. Our hands must be extended into that handshake with the ability to accept the hug that draws us in.

As we end this year and welcome in the next , I wish all my family and friends, my new found cousins and their families a happy healthy coming year filled with discovery and excitement for that ah ha moment of ‘will wonders ever cease’ ……

Author:

15 years ago I located my birth family, both maternal and paternal side. After literally years of searching, even before the help of the internet, I just couldn't stop searching so I began digging into my new found families past. The journey has been amazing as we connect and reconnect lost and found generations.

3 thoughts on “Happy New Year

  1. Happy New Year, Sharon, and I hope it’s a successful and healthy and happy one for you. I am so glad you started blogging—I am enjoying sharing your adventures! And I am touched that I was able to inspire you to get started. Keep up the good work!!

Leave a Reply

