Samuel Haimowitz Revisited

I decided to put aside our Rosen/Brickman connection for a moment as I gather more information and pictures from family and take another look at a mystery that has bothered me for some time with patriarch Samuel Haimowitz, my great grandfather, who immigrated from Galatz, Romania (last known town of residence) to New York sometime between 1898 and 1903.

I introduced Samuel and Rebecca in a blog post back in October 2016samrebeccahaimowitz2

Samuel was born the 15 March 1875. He was married to a woman named Rebecca Strulowitz, also from Romania. Still, to date I have not been able to find any documents regarding his/their passage over but I keep on keeping on, checking, thinking what have I missed, how could the name have been spelled or misspelled in the transcribing? What we do know is that Sam and Rebecca arrived with son Hyman/Herman age about 2 years and infant son Pincus/Paul who is/was believed to be born aboard ship. The first documented record for them is the 1905c. The spelling of the last name is Heimowitz, Sam is 28 and Rebecca is 25, Hyman is 8, Pincus 3 & Freda 1. They are living at 170 Ludlow and Sam is working as a carpenter. Five years later in 1910c, Sam has moved the family up to West 99th St, and is still working as a house carpenter which he will continue to do until he retires. This census interests me because it tells me that Sam has now been naturalized and that he immigrated in 1901. * It also says not only did he immigrate in 1901, but also Rebecca, Hyman and Pincus (spelled Pinchas) did as well.  Back in the 1905c, Pincus is listed as born in the US. This confusion proves to me that the question of his place of birth is in question. Was it in US waters, was in Romanian waters or in international water?

005264774_03548

Back to Sam and the above document, his WWl draft registration. There are two important areas of interest on this document for me. The first is the year of naturalization of 1906 and the year of his declaring his intent to naturalize as 1903. The second point of interest is his signature. This document we know is our Sam for sure, no doubt.

Not only has his immigration papers been escaping me but I haven’t been able to pin down with any certainty his naturalization papers, until now. Below are the papers for a Sam Haimovich (I believe misspelled by recorder), carpenter, he has lived here for 5 years since July 1901…the only thing that confuses me with this document is that he is living in the Bronx which doesn’t fit for Sam but maybe, between census years, he was in the Bronx, we know that by 1930 he does relocate to the Bronx.  The question remains “Is this our Samuel Haimowitz?”

32126_22314880167787-01163

Here are 3 signatures off of the naturalization document above (last page I did not post)

These next 2 are his social security card application and WWl draft registration. These two documents are not in question.

All signatures seem a bit off but take a good look at the t & z; the last S and the 3rd S from the naturalization papers; I think this is him.

There are a number of Samuel Haimowitz’s within age range and immigration dates that could be our guy but all information does not match up. Cousin Arline thought she had located the papers but with cross checking the address I was able to rule those papers out as the wrong Sam; address on papers matched census record for another Sam married to Pearl with different children 🙂  I believe this naturalization document is for our Samuel Haimowitz.                          I’d love to hear from you on what you think?

One last picture to share;  below is a picture of Sam with his 2 daughters, Fay and Mollie. The picture was sent to me by Fay’s daughter Arline. Thank you Arline! samfaymollie

Fay        Sam        Mollie 

 

Author:

15 years ago I located my birth family, both maternal and paternal side. After literally years of searching, even before the help of the internet, I just couldn't stop searching so I began digging into my new found families past. The journey has been amazing as we connect and reconnect lost and found generations.

3 thoughts on “Samuel Haimowitz Revisited

  1. I am no handwriting expert, but those sure look like the same handwriting to me. Maybe someone on Facebook has real expertise and can help? But I think you’ve found your Sam! Great photos also. I also found it interesting that they ended up in East Harlem because that’s where my Romanian grandfather and his family lived, not in the Lower East Side.

    1. Great idea Amy, I should post on TTT and see what the a consensus is. It would be interesting to see if we could find a Romanian congregation in that area in that time frame…another road to explore 🙂

Leave a Reply

