Rose (Ray) Rosen Continued

Since last posting I have continued to spend countless hours trying to locate more information on Rose, my 2nd great Aunt, sister to my great grandmother Kate Rosen  Lipschitz. I still have not been able to find anything on Rose’s immigration or naturalization for either her and her husband, David Smith. Nor have I been able to find anything accurate or specific on her death and burial except the year. I still can not find them in the 1910c.  Right now I am waiting on 2 documents, hoping for that crumb that might open up a flood gate of information. 1 for Rose and 1 for her daughter Muriel. These countless hours spent did lead to something interesting to share.

From FamilySearch I believe I located a 3rd child of Rose and David.Named Charles Smith, he was born in 1912 passing away a short 2 years later in 1914. Yesterday, I sent away for his death certificate, adding a 3rd document to my waiting for list for this family. With the 1 minor spelling error of David’s name, I believe this record belongs to this family.
Name Charles Smith
Event Type Death
Event Date 07 Jan 1914
Event Place Manhattan, New York, New York, United States
Address 326 E 101 St.
Gender Male
Age 2
Marital Status Unknown
Race White
Birth Year (Estimated) 1912
Birthplace U. S.
Burial Date 08 Jan 1914
Cemetery Sect Cur Ocean View
Father’s Name Davis Smith
Father’s Birthplace Romania
Mother’s Name Rose Rosen
Mother’s Birthplace Russia
Citing this Record
“New York, New York City Municipal Deaths, 1795-1949,” database, FamilySearch (https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:2WMN-L61 : 20 March 2015), Davis Smith in entry for Charles Smith, 07 Jan 1914; citing Death, Manhattan, New York, New York, United States, New York Municipal Archives, New York; FHL microfilm 1,323,349.

So what I have for Rose and David is this…

Rose immigrated sometime just prior to marring David, census records are consistent that Rose came over from Russia in 1906. She must have married almost immediately or the question is raised, could she have already been married to David overseas?  However with with no marriage license found yet, I was thinking the marriage was here, especially with the evidence that David was not from Russia but Botsana, Romania, arriving much earlier than Rose.Could the marriage have been arranged? Using the immigration date of 1906 to Gertrude’s birth in 1907, they had to have met and married rather quickly. First child Gertrude/Gussie/Gil was born 29 Aug 1907, followed by Charles in 1912 passing in 1914, and then Muriel arriving in 1918. *** Add to the 3 names used by daughter Gertrude I have discovered the name on Gertrude’s birth certificate: It was “Golde” see the copied document cited below, and yes I now have a 4th document I am waiting for, Golde’s birth certificate.

David Smith
mentioned in the record of Golde Smith
Name David Smith
Age 25
Birthplace Romania
Gender Male
Wife Rose Rosen Smith
Daughter Golde Smith

Other information in the record of Golde Smith
from New York, New York City Births
Name Golde Smith
Event Type Birth
Event Date 29 Aug 1907
Event Place Manhattan, New York, New York, United States
Gender Female
Race White
Father’s Name David Smith
Father’s Birthplace Romania
Father’s Age 25
Mother’s Name Rose Rosen Smith
Mother’s Birthplace Russia
Mother’s Age 19

Citing this Record
“New York, New York City Births, 1846-1909,” database, FamilySearch (https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:2WC7-LCR : 20 March 2015), David Smith in entry for Golde Smith, 29 Aug 1907; citing Manhattan, New York, New York, United States, reference cn 44654 New York Municipal Archives, New York; FHL microfilm 1,991,802.

Since my last post on this family I have made some additional headway and limited contact with a descendant of Golde/Gertrude/Gil and her 2nd husband Alex Sinrod. Gil passed away in June of 1976 in Brooklyn and Alex followed 10 years later in 1986, also in Brooklyn – Alex is buried in a family plot at New Montifiore Cemetery on LI. A search of New Montifiore grave locator online, did not locate Gil buried there.

The search and documenting of this family continues for me. I am hoping to reconnect with the Sinrod family and hopefully a picture will be shared. The search to round out the history and lives of Rose and David Smith continues 🙂

 

Author:

15 years ago I located my birth family, both maternal and paternal side. After literally years of searching, even before the help of the internet, I just couldn't stop searching so I began digging into my new found families past. The journey has been amazing as we connect and reconnect lost and found generations.

3 thoughts on “Rose (Ray) Rosen Continued

  1. You are making a lot of progress! How are you ordering all these records? I may have a faster method if you are waiting for NYC to send them. Let me know.

      1. I know a woman out in SLC who goes to the FHL and retrieves copies much faster than the official NYC site or Vital Records. Email me!

Leave a Reply

