Brenda Haimowitz DeFrain

 

 

Brenda2

Brenda Haimowitz DeFrain

22 Jan 1950 – 8 June 2017

My Aunt Brenda passed away very recently in Tampa, Florida. She was preceded in death by her father Irving Isidore Haimowitz and mother Myra Lipschitz Haimowitz – Seiden, brother Ronald & Sheldon Haimowitz and by my mother, her sister Marlene Haimowitz – Glinko. She leaves behind her husband and 1 son, a sister and many nieces and nephews and cousins. She will be greatly missed by those who knew and loved her.

A small family gathering will held in the home of her sister which I will not be able to attend. Living almost the farthest apart one can, from the north west corner of Washington state to the southern east coast of Florida I decided to share on our family blog since I can not attend.

When I located my maternal birth family 15 years ago, Brenda was my first contact with the family. I had sent a letter outlining my search, who I was looking for, along with some identifying information. Brenda was only 3 years older than me and actually had no idea who I was other than I knew quite a bit about her family. She called her older sister and  said she received a letter from some lady who knew a lot about the family. Well, that sister knew about me since she was 7 years older and and aware that their older sister, my birth mother, had a child she gave up for adoption. I was called that evening and have since been able to share the last 15 years of my life with Brenda and family. I shutter when I think she could have tossed that letter in the trash on that fateful day. Brenda was one of the last of perhaps close to 300 plus letters I had sent out over those past ten years. In fact I was down to less than 12 people to correspond with. You are truly my hero Aunt Brenda…thank you for your always questioning nature.

While those of us left will miss her greatly she is at rest. May love and light surround those of us left. Aunt Brenda- you were an amazing woman; strong, compassionate, caring, full of love and laughter. Your shoes can never be filled, your loss will always be felt. Thank you for loving me unconditionally and being such a wonderful part of my life.

 

Author:

15 years ago I located my birth family, both maternal and paternal side. After literally years of searching, even before the help of the internet, I just couldn't stop searching so I began digging into my new found families past. The journey has been amazing as we connect and reconnect lost and found generations.

9 thoughts on “Brenda Haimowitz DeFrain

  1. Sorry for your loss. I am also thankful to your aunt for not tossing that letter of yours.
    Who would have thought so many years ago as kids that we would be sharing what we share today. ❤

  2. I am so sorry for your loss. It must be very hard as she became the essential link in your search. Have you written more about your search? I don’t recall reading about it on the blog but I guess you started the blog after you found your birth family?

  3. SHARON…THAT E-MAIL WAS SO BEAUTIFUL..WHERE DID YOU FIND SUCH A BEAUTIFUL PICTURE OF MY SWEET SISTER. I AM GOING TO OFFICE DEPOT DRIVING THRU MY TEARS TO MAKE AN ENLARGEMENT TO GIVE OUT TOMORROW AT HER FUNERAL.. I LOVE YOU YOU ARE SO SWEET AND KIND AND GIVING..THANK GOD WE FOUND YOU….. WITH MY LOVE ALWAYS CANDY

  4. What a wonderful tribute Sharon. I have vague memories of Brenda as a young kid. Happy to hear she grew up to be the fine person you described.

Leave a Reply

